TCF Award Information

The TEAL Charitable Foundation (TCF) supports English language educators and students by offering eleven awards with a value of $27,500 each year. The TCF Awards are funded through the interest accrued from the TCF endowment with the Vancouver Foundation. There are two application deadlines for the TCF Awards. January 31st is the deadline for students and November 1st is the deadline for educators.

TCF Awards for Students
  • Nicholas Collins Founders Award [$3000]
  • Taiga Galli Memorial Refugee Award [$3000]
  • TCF Refugee Award [$3000]
  • David Lam / BC TEAL English Language Learner Scholarship [$4000]
  • TCF Refugee Award for Ongoing Study [$3000]
TCF Awards for Educators
  • BC TEAL/TESOL Award [$1000]
  • Health Education Award [$5000]
  • Nan Poliakoff Memorial Award [$1000]
  • Project Funding Award [$2500]
  • Settlement Language Resource Award [$3000]
  • Mary Ashworth Scholarship [$1000]
  • Pat Wakefield Scholarship [$3000]

The TCF Awards Support:

  • refugees and immigrant students needing financial support in order to study in post secondary programs in British Columbia
  • teacher education and professional development in the field of English language instruction
  • international travel to research or study in the field of English language instruction
  • the promotion of health education through English language instruction
  • research projects, resources and teacher/learner projects in the field of English language instruction

How to Apply for a TCF Award

There is not one standard application form because each TCF Award is unique. To find out how to apply for a TCF Award, please review the application procedure at the end of each award page. If you need further assistance, please contact us at

Please also note that in accordance with TEAL Charitable Foundation Bylaws, applications received from members of the TEAL Charitable Foundation Board or the BC TEAL Board cannot be considered for TCF Awards.